Calendar|DES In the News|Sitemap 
Arizona Department of Economic Security
Advanced Search
 DES Home About DES FAQ's Contact Us Reports Forms Policies 
The Arizona Department of Economic Security/ Division of Developmental Disabilities provides needed supports to people who meet the following eligibility requirements. Please click on the links below and review the definitions of the terms.
If, after clicking on the above links and reviewing the information, you think the person may meet eligibility requirements for the Division of Developmental Disabilities and you would like to make a referral , click Continue. NOTE: This is a referral only, not a determination of eligibility.
If you do not believe the person would meet the eligibility requirements , but would like to explore other resources , click here.
Resident means a person who physically resides within the state of Arizona with the intent to remain. The person who would receive services must be a resident except in the case of minors or adults who have a guardian whose residency is deemed to be the same as that of the custodial parent(s) or the guardian. The residency requirement is not applicable to children in foster care who are placed in accordance with state and federal laws regarding the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.
Voluntarily applies means that no admission to services may be made for any person without the consent of the legally responsible person (parent, guardian or the person him/herself).
A child under the age of six years may be eligible if there is a strongly demonstrated potential that the child has or will have a developmental disability as determined by appropriate tests.
Epilepsy is a seizure disorder.
Cerebral palsy is a permanently disabling condition resulting from damage to the developing brain
Cognitive/Intellectual Disability is sub-average intellectual functioning. It does not include learning disabilities.
Autism is a condition characterized by severe disorders in communication and behavior resulting in limited ability to communicate, understand, learn and participate in social relationships.
Substantial functional limitations in three of seven major life areas include:
  • Self-care: Eating, hygiene, bathing, etc.
  • Receptive and expressive language: Communicating with others
  • Learning: Acquiring and processing new information
  • Mobility: Moving from place to place
  • Self-direction: Managing personal finances, protecting self-interest, or making independent decisions which may affect well-being
  • Capacity for independent living: Needing supervision or assistance on a daily basis
  • Economic self-sufficiency: Being able to financially support oneself.